FamilySearch Bloginar - December 2010's recording now available
Another free webinar - Newspapers: Critical Resource to Complete Your Family Tree

Register for our free webinar - Chasing Women: Finding Your Female Ancestors

Theme-200 Registration is now open for a fantastic upcoming webinar: Chasing Women - Finding Your Female Ancestors. Hosted by Legacy Family Tree's Geoff Rasmussen and presented by's Leland K. Meitzler, you are in for a real treat.

While the live webinar is not until Wednesday, February 16, 2011, space is limited to the first 1,000 attendees, so register today to reserve your virtual seat. Registration is free.


Webinar Description
Locating the names of our female ancestors can be difficult – principally because their names changed upon marrying. However, women historically haven’t produced as many records as their husbands, since women’s suffrage largely didn’t exist until the twentieth century. This adds to the difficulty of finding their names, let alone the details of their lives.

There are two major search areas that we deal with in locating women’s names, the first being the search for their maiden names, and secondly, the search for their married names. One search can be as hard as the other, and you may find you’re doing both types of searches on the same women.

This webinar is very “source” oriented, giving detailed information on a wide variety of sources, starting with the obvious, and working its way through sources that you may not have thought of using previously.

About the presenter
Leland-100 Leland K. Meitzler founded Heritage Quest in 1985, and has worked as Managing Editor of both Heritage Quest Magazine and The Genealogical Helper. He currently operates Family Roots Publishing Company, writes daily at, conducts the annual Salt Lake Christmas Tour (now in its 27th year), and speaks nationally, having given over 2000 lectures since 1983.

Registration is free but space is limited. Click the registration below to reserve your webinar seat.


Webinar time
The webinar will be live on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 at:

2:00PM Eastern U.S.

1:00PM Central U.S.

12:00PM Mountain U.S.

11:00AM Pacific U.S.

7:00PM GMT

Click here to calculate the time for your time zone.

How does it work?
After you register you will be sent instructions, including your private link to view the webinar online. You will need to be connected to the Internet (high speed connection recommended) and turn on your speakers. You can also join via telephone to listen to the presentation. Using a headset works best (but is not required) - here's my favorite. Be sure to join about 15 minutes prior to the start time to ensure everything is working correctly. Also be sure to correctly calculate your time zone.

We look forward to seeing you all there!

Other upcoming webinars

Wednesday, January 5, 2011 - Google for Genealogists with Thomas MacEntee.

Friday, January 21, 2011 - Improving Your Use of New FamilySearch: Data Cleanup Strategies with Geoff Rasmussen

Saturday, January 22, 2011 - New FamilySearch Made Easy with Legacy Family Tree



Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Is it possible to sign-up for some form of a re-play of the webinar? I am not available during the times that you are running the live webinar. Even if it wouldn't be live, I am sure there is a great deal I could learn from a re-play of the event.

Paul - yes, just register for the webinar. Afterwards you will receive an automated email letting you know when the archived webinar will be available.

The comments to this entry are closed.